Monday, September 23, 2013

Establishment of Diplomatic Relations with the Republic of Kosovo

Embassy of the Federated States of Micronesia
Washington DC

17 Sept 2013

Another page in the diplomatic history of the Federated States of Micronesia was turned when, on 17 September 2013 in Washington DC, relations were established with the Republic of Kosovo.  The Joint Communique formalizing the relations between the two countries was signed by their respective Ambassadors Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the United States, His Excellency Asterio R Takesy of the FSM and His Excellency Akan Ismaeli of Kosovo. 

With Pristina as its national capitol, Kosovo is a land-locked Eastern European country bordered by Macedonia on the southeast, Albania on the southwest, Montenegro on the northwest, and Serbia on the northeast.  Kosovo has  a population of approximately 1,733,840 (2011 estimates).  It declared independence on 17 February 2009 and is recognized by over 100 UN member states.

The Joint Communique that Ambassador Takesy and Ambassador Ismaeli signed states that the Government of Kosovo and the Government of the Federated States of Micronesia will promote ties of friendship between their two countries, widen horizons of mutual cooperation, and support the cause of international peace and security.  Just prior to signing, Ambassador Takesy noted  in his statement that the foreign policy of his country has largely been guided by the expression of aspiration in the Preamble of the Constitution of the Federated States of Micronesia – “We extend to all nations what we seek from each: peace, friendship, cooperation and love in our common humanity.”

The exchange of note ceremony formalizing the relations was witnessed by Madame Justina Takesy, Madame Fitore Ismaeli, DCM James A Naich, DCM Gjenza Budim, First Secretary Dominic R Maluchmai, and Military Attache Marsh.   

The Republic of Kosovo is the 70th country with which the FSM has established relations.

No comments:

Post a Comment